The Honestea Tag

‘Sup.

I know I’ve been doing a lot of tags lately, but it’s summer vacation, so who’s keeping track?

Anyway, when Olivia @Meanwhile in Rivendell invited me to fill out The Honestea Tag, I sprang to the task “with my hair in a braid,” as Bertie Wooster would say. This tag was pretty much designed for me, because it allows–nay, encourages–you to spill all your petty rages on an unsuspecting populace. It’s a beautiful thing.

~The Rules~

  1. No lies allowed. If an answer is too shameful to expose you may substitute the answer with a gif/image of someone drinking tea.
  2. There are optional bonus additions to questions but these are not for the faint of heart.
  3. You complete the tag having answered every question + the bonus additions (no gifs used), you are dubbed a certified tea chugger, and you deserve a badge to show the world that you are not afraid of a steaming hot cup of TRUTH.
  4. Tag at least one other person (a tea party with just one is not very fun. trust me.) Untagged persons are more than welcome to fill it out as well (nothing cooler than crashing a tea party).

Sounds like a wild time! Let’s get down to it!

~The Questions~

What is a ‘bad’ (generally disliked) movie that you actually love?

I don’t know if I watch enough movies to have a favorite ‘bad’ movie, even if we’re defining ‘bad’ in the subjective sense of ‘disliked by the general public.’ That implies a sort of universal shunning which I don’t think any of my favorite films have experienced.

However, I can think of several movies //fairly// widely disliked within their fandoms which I unabashedly love, like The Last Jedi, Toy Story 4, and the 2005 Pride and Prejudice. The Last Jedi made Luke Skywalker ACTUALLY INTERESTING to me for the first time, while Toy Story 4 gently reminded me that it’s okay to become a different person than the one everybody expected you to. As for the Keira Knightley Pride and Prejudice

NEED I SAY MORE??????

What is your most shocking reading habit?

Sometimes I get hella bored and read the ending first.

What can I say? I have the attention span of a goldfish. Besides which, my reading materials were pretty heavily restricted as a child–sheltered homeschooler here–so I developed a habit of “sneaking” books and speed-reading only their beginnings and endings (to maximize the amount of story I could consume without getting caught).

Tell us the number one lie you write in your posts.

“I don’t want to offend anyone, but…”

I say this all the time and it’s not even remotely true. ๐Ÿ˜›

Tell us the worst character name you’ve ever thought up. {Bonus: share a character name you find ridiculous in a book/movie.}

The worst character name I’ve ever thought up? My dude, I don’t come up with bad character names. All my character names are fabulous. *flips hair*

In all seriousness, I can’t think of a character name in any of my stories that strikes me as “weird” or “bad?” Most of my writing is historical fiction or historical fantasy, so I tend to choose names which are fairly staid and ordinary, or at least grounded in a real-world culture. I don’t know if that makes them “good,” per se, but I feel like they’re less likely to be actively “bad.”

What is the real reason you procrastinate writing your work in progress?

f e a r

What is a genre of music you secretly love?

My music tastes are an open book. No secrets to be had here. ๐Ÿ˜›

If you want a sample, check out my writing playlist for my Western fantasy novel Dragon, or the playlist for my new semi-secret project The Priest and the Outlaw. It’s a weird mashup of classic rock, Disney songs, modern pop, Broadway showtunes, old Irish ballads, obscure Catholic hymns, and a dash of MCR for the emo goth living inside me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

If you’re a plotter, what do you really think of pansters? If you’re a panster, what do you really think of plotters?

I’m a plantser, which means I plot the broad strokes beforehand and leave the rest to sort itself out in my typical easy-going fashion.

I have nothing against either “true plotters” or “true pantsers” as writers, but I think both camps tend towards a bit of fanaticism in promoting their own preferred methods. Some pantsers are genuinely convinced that NaNoWriMo is the silver bullet for writing success, not just for themselves, but for everyone; that pounding out 50,000 words of pure unfiltered chaos during the month of November is the only way to produce a completed novel. And like, it’s not. XD But on the other hand, some plotters look down on pantsers simply because they don’t adhere to a rigid plan. “Oh, you don’t plan anything beforehand? That’s going to ruin your writing.” Again, no! Some people create better without a rigid plan! And just because you plan everything beforehand doesn’t guarantee you’re good at it. Plotters can be bad writers too. Don’t come @me.

Share at least three lines of dialogue from one of your first writing projects. {Bonus: give us the good stuff. your most gruesome butchering of the English language.}

All my early writing projects have been lost to posterity, thanks to several crashed computers and broken flashdrives, so I’ll have to pass on this question. I know, I know, I’m as disappointed as you are. XD

Tell us the title & artist of the last song you listened to.

“So Much Better” from Legally Blonde: The Musical. It’s like a pure caffeine shot of pink, sparkly girl power. “LOOK AT MY NAME IN BLACK AND WHITE, YOUR DAUGHTER’S DOING SOMETHING RIGHT–“

Which beloved book/movie character do you dislike & why?

I don’t want to offend anyone, but…

Edward Rochester is a complete and utter @$$hole.

Tell us the title & topic of a post you have left in draft.

“Friday Night Lights Is Good, Actually.”

I stand by that declaration; it’s a good show.

What is a book you pretend you’ve read/would like to read but know you never will? {Bonus: share a time when claiming you’ve read a classic/well-known book didn’t end well}

I pretend I’ve read Lord of the Rings whenever I don’t have the emotional energy to deal with the what-do-you-mean-you-haven’t-read-it???? which inevitably follows.

I’ve watched The Fellowship of the Ring and attempted to start the book trilogy multiple times, but no dice. I don’t like high fantasy, I don’t care for the medieval aesthetic, I don’t like male-dominated casts, and the One Ring seriously creeps me out.

Tell us the title & topic of the most embarrassing post you’ve ever written. {Bonus: include. the. link.}

I could do that. Or… you could always search my blog and find it for yourself. ๐Ÿ˜‰

~~~~

That’s a wrap on the questions! Hopefully my “honestea,” pun intended, hasn’t driven away all my followers… though to be fair I don’t think I was significantly more blunt in this post than I am in everything else I write. So, ya know. ๐Ÿ˜›

I tag Eva @The Caffeinated Fangirl, because she specifically requested it, but also because I just really want to hear what she has to say. Take it away, bestie!

Were you shocked by any of my answers?

Let’s chat!

28 thoughts on “The Honestea Tag

Add yours

    1. Oooh! I did not know anyone except Allison Tebo shared my specific feelings on Lord of the Rings! This is very exciting!!

      Like, do I respect it as a foundational achievement in the modern fantasy genre? Yes. Do I LIKE it? Does it SUIT me? No…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Cruel, manipulative, controlling, arrogant, HORRIBLE HORRIBLE MAN.
        Literally so much to unpack but the fastest way to say it is that I despise him.

        Sometimes I make up alternative endings of Jane Eyre in my head and it usually ends with him yeeting his wife out the window, where she lands safely on a bush, and HE dies in the attic, and Jane is rid of him forever.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Saaaaaaame. My rage against that man runs DEEP. I want him wiped off the face of the earth.

        I have a whole entire Jane Eyre retelling living rent-free in my brain, if I can ever get around to actually writing it…

        Liked by 1 person

  1. “Besides which, my reading materials were pretty heavily restricted as a childโ€“sheltered homeschooler hereโ€“so I developed a habit of โ€œsneakingโ€ books and speed-reading only their beginnings and endings (to maximize the amount of story I could consume without getting caught).”

    You rascal, you. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I always find it interesting which stories were off-limits for which people growing up. Like, most (or a lot) of us were raised in relatively similar circles, but we sometimes still surprise me with how different our various boundaries were, y’know?

    “wHAT dO yOu MeAn yOu HaVEn’T ReAD tHe LorD oF tHE RinGS?!?!” Alas, alas, people really do be wildin’ out here. *sighs and shakes head*

    Thanks for playing! It was fun to read your answers. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebel Without A Cause, that’s me XD

      It really is hilarious the degree to which To Tame a Land by Louis L’Amour absolutely CHANGED MY LIFE given that my first exposure to it was skim-reading the ending with zero context. ๐Ÿ˜›

      No but!!! This is a really important point!!! We (ie, conservative Christian homeschooled kids) were all sheltered, but we weren’t sheltered from the exact same things. Some Christian parents were like “you can ONLY read the classics,” while my parents, who had been Traumatized by Fitzgerald and Salinger and Steinbeck as high school students, were more like “uhhhhhhh, stay away from the classics.” I mean, they let us read Shakespeare and stuff, but most famous 20th century authors were just right out. There’s a reason I didn’t read To Kill a Mockingbird and The Great Gatsby until college or beyond.

      People do be wildin’ out here…

      Thanks for tagging me! It’s always a joy to spill the tea with you, m’dear. โค

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay well now you GOTTA tell me how To Tame a Land changed your life. I mean to say, Jeeves, you can’t just go around tossing out tantalizing statements like that without expounding on them. ;-P

        Right?! Like, *a lot of us* were sheltered from Harry Potter, for example. But not all of us! Some of us were encouraged to watch VeggieTales almost exclusively, while others of us were encouraged to *avoid* VeggieTales. And then, as you point out, things like classics and which classics were okay and which weren’t. Interesting times, interesting times. ;-P

        The feeling’s mutual, m’dear. โค

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ha! Well… *cracks knuckles*

        To Tame a Land introduced me to the classic Western novel as a genre and an art form (which I came to absolutely LOVE), it introduced me to “Grown-Up Adventure Stories” as opposed to adventure stories written mainly about and for kids, and it was also lowkey my romantic/sexual awakening because… like. HAVE YOU READ THAT ENDING SCENE, JEEVES.

        Not me out here quoting it verbatim from memory or anything, but–

        “She’s coming with me. I went after her.”

        //meaningful pause//

        “Any argument?”

        “Not any. You go on.”

        Little Katie thought that was spicy as hell, and Adult Katie rather concurs. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Funny you should mention Veggie Tales, because I distinctly remember having a full-on sobbing meltdown in 2nd grade because the teacher tried to put on Veggie Tales and I didn’t want to watch it. I wouldn’t stop crying until they let me go sit in the empty classroom next door and read books all by myself. Then I perked right up, because BOOKS, and SOLITUDE. What more could a wee introvert want?

        Like

      3. “Little Katie thought that was spicy as hell” << I love this so much. xD xD

        So cool that To Tame a Land was such an awakening for you on so many levels! Good times, good times.

        VEGGIE TAAAAAALES. Yeah. There was Controversy(TM) surrounding those films in my little circle. xD I never cared for most of them, but there were a couple gems.

        Awww, little Katie! Bless her.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You have impeccable taste, as seen by your love for The Last Jedi and P&P 2005. Just sayin’. XD

    This was such a fun post to read! I especially love all the GIFs.

    Looking forward to answering it myself…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why thank you, thank you! *bows*

      I still plan (eventually) to write that post about the Pride and Prejudice Wars and the truly insane amount of hate P&P 05 was subjected to back in the day. I have things to say. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I can’t wait to read your answers! โค

      Like

  3. I feel like maybe the tide is turning against Rochester. I never got it. Well except the 2006 movie version, but I don’t think he was like the book Rochester.

    I think its interesting you mentioning in the comments us all being sheltered from different things. I feel like my parents were mostly against movies, anything violent or sexual. I don’t remember being told no about books, it just never occurred to me to ask, even about Harry Potter. I think some things were unspoken and unchallenged.

    I do remember my mom and my grandmother had books that if they remembered what was in them and knew I was skimming reading (Rosamund Pilcher and that type I believe) I’d have gotten in trouble (actually I think I sort tried to tell on myself obliquely from a guilty conscience, another reason I didn’t tend to sneak too much or do it well, I don’t like secrets). Those books, my parents’ christian books on marriage, and a certain chapter in the anatomy textbook. I was reeeeaaaalll edgy y’all.

    Also. First time I think I’ve seen a sports show host on gif on anything I’ve seen in my blogosphere. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I certainly hope the tide is turning against Rochester–and I think it might be, indeed. Social mores surrounding romance are changing quite a bit, after all.

      OOOOH EDGY

      Yeah, I was a very secretive child for the most part, and I’m still naturally secretive as an adult. I like keeping things to myself and only revealing what I choose.

      Like

  4. “I don’t want to offend anyone, but Edward Rochester is a complete and utter @$$hole”

    AND I TOOK THAT PERSONALLY ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚.

    In all seriousness ๐Ÿ˜‚…

    While I adore the Lord of the Rings books and films (I just went through a teary re-watch that put my mind back into beautiful places after a hellish semester), I DO AGREE WITH YOU ON PRIDE AND PREJUDICE 2005!!! IT IS SO PRETTY WHY DOES EVERYONE HATE IT. I also love the Colin Firth version from the 90s, but the 2005 version is also very very beautiful and good and no one can tell us otherwise. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hey, at least I said I didn’t want to offend anybody! Thereby paying lip service to the conventions of civilized debate ๐Ÿ˜›

      (When you said “I took that personally,” the meme template popped into my head IMMEDIATELY. Ah, children of the Internet, what have we become??)

      Yes!!! *high fives* It’s such a gorgeous, dreamy, romantic film! The soundtrack alone, Jeeves *heart eyes*

      Like I was telling Eva, I actually have a whole blog post planned about the weirdly virulent attacks directed at P&P 05 from certain corners of the Austenite fandom. You’re (probably?) a little too young to remember this, but when I first got into blogging in the early 2010s, there was a whole fandom WAR going on over ’95 vs. ’05. People lost their minds. It was crazy.

      Like

  5. I am right here beside you loving P&P2005. Let us replay the hand flex until our DVD warps and dies.

    Rochester IS an awful person for 80% of the book. That’s the point, that even manipulative ladies’ men can realize they’re bad, repent of their ways, ask God to forgive them… and be forgiven. And then go their way as new beings, changed not by their own efforts, but by God.

    I liked your answer to the last question ๐Ÿ˜€ Why didn’t I think of that?!?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THE HAND FLEX, THOUGH.

      I’m in the middle of writing a post about P&P 2005 right now, actually… so stay tuned… *googly eyes*

      I cannot trust a character like Edward Rochester, even if the story argues that the character has changed. That’s one of the reasons why Jane Eyre doesn’t appeal to me, because its premise involves redeeming a character that I just… don’t have any personal interest in seeing redeemed. “It’s a no from me, chief.”

      There’s more I could say about Jane Eyre (just ask poor Olivia xD xD), but “on this point, perhaps, it is as well to be silent.”

      Aha!! I actually completely forgot what I answered for the last question, so I had to go look it up like “oh, my, did I say something clever???” I’m glad you enjoyed it ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thanks for your comment! โค

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Knowing your need to be able to trust characters, I can understand your not approving of Mr. Rochester.

        I actually have written a guest post for the #AustenInAugust blog event that discusses my three favorite movie versions of P&P, and I think that will be posted this coming week, so watch for a link to that ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑