For Whom the Bell Tolls

Ask not for whom the bell tolls, John Donne admonishes us.  It tolls for thee. 

‘Kay, now I’ve hit you with that entirely random Elizabethan quote, let me back up and start again.  I’ve been thinking a lot about the upcoming Avengers: Endgame lately, which means I’ve been thinking a lot about tragedy and human mortality.  (I mean, c’mon–have you seen these trailers???  Not for the faint of heart, that’s sure.)  I wanted to talk about my expectations for Endgame, what kind of movie I hope it is, and why.

d606e58635bd29ff733d530ee586c9ed

I don’t have specific predictions.  I don’t have a list of character deaths, or a list of suggestions to defeat Thanos.  But in order for me to consider Endgame a success, two things need to happen:

  • Thanos needs to die. 
  • The Avengers need to sustain serious, permanent losses.   

Sure, the final scene of Infinity War, where half the Avengers turned to dust in Thanos’ ‘snap,’ was a real shocker.  I was more than shocked.  I was DEVASTATED.  But here’s the thing:  We know at least one of the fallen, our friendly neighborhood Peter Parker, will be resurrected by the end of this film.  So, if the snap is reversed . . . if none [or almost none] of that damage is permanent . . . I’m sorry, but I can’t accept that as sufficient tragedy.  It’s the end of the world, is it?  It’s the apocalypse of the damned, huh?  HUH, MARVEL?  Because you sure ain’t made me feel it yet.

No major MCU character has ever died and stayed dead.

I mean, think about it.  Coulson came back.  Cap came back.  Bucky came back.  Loki came back.  Fury came back.  And now Spider-man’s gonna come back?!?  Okay.  But.

It’s time to raise the stakes, you guys.

It’s time to explore IRREVERSIBLE sacrifice and loss.

b9de434c98d6767d4d1edccf8bbdb0b1.jpg

“Of course you would say so, Katie,” you mutter.  “You love tragic stories.”  Yes, I do.  I love tragic stories, and I cannot lie.  But this is more than my love of tragedy.  It’s my love of authenticity.  Of honesty.  I want movies with the guts to tell me the truth about life.  I don’t want movies to lie to me.  And if, *squints suspiciously at the Russo brothers* if you tryna’ tell me we can defeat the biggest enemy the galaxy has ever seen, resuscitate half the world’s population, escape with just one or two deaths, tops, and end on a triumphant note . . .

THAT FEELS AN AWFUL LOT LIKE A LIE.  

Death is part of the human condition.  Death sucks, sure, but death is here to stay until the Last Trumpet sounds.  We can’t cheat death, and the best stories don’t pretend we can.  Instead, they embrace death.  If we’ve never experienced it in our own lives, they help us prepare.  If we have experienced it, they help us grieve.  They explore death’s ugliness; and you know what else?  They explore its beauty, too.

Will I sob inconsolably if I have to say goodbye to Steve Rogers?

Yes.  Of course.

Will it KILL me to say goodbye to Steve Rogers?

No.  It won’t.

701ab85e6ef7f4af1491a06cc885e04f

Instead, I’ll look back on his life–his whole life, now that it’s a closed chapter–and let it be a challenge and an inspiration to me.  All the way backward to “I don’t like bullies,” all the way forward to “We don’t trade lives.”  That skinny kid from Brooklyn who was too dumb to walk away from a fight–yeah.  I’ll follow him forever.  You know I will.  The thing is, I don’t care what side of the grave he’s on.  He’ll always be my leader.  

I leave you with this thought from another sci-fi/fantasy universe, one which (unlike Marvel thus far) has demonstrated a marked willingness to Kill its Darlings:

71c1a81486e0095356504ddf19bd3b4c

“Tell her she’ll go to sea and fight pirates.  She’ll fall in love with a man who’ll wait two thousand years to keep her safe.  Tell her she’ll give hope to the greatest painter who ever lived, and save a whale in outer space.

“Tell her this is the story of Amelia Pond, and this is how it ends.

Some day, somehow, every story comes to an end.  And that’s okay.  Because the people who are left remember the people who are gone.  “Ask not for whom the bell tolls . . . it tolls for thee.”

16 thoughts on “For Whom the Bell Tolls

Add yours

  1. Will I cry for HOURS if/when Steve Rogers dies? Yes.
    But is it the end of the world? No.

    I completely agree with this! I’m already mentally preparing myself for the deaths. . . . XD There will be tears. I just hope that the movie itself is a worthy end, and that they don’t cop out of anything.

    Like

  2. (I read this several days ago but I’m still trying to get my thoughts together for a comment. ;-p So . . . hang tight, I guess.)

    Like

    1. As always, love reading your thoughts! I don’t know how much I relate/agree, per se, but I totally get where you’re coming from. And you’re right, Marvel hasn’t really examined the irreversible side of tragedy.

      I guess, for me, epic sagas that end with minimal deaths don’t necessarily feel unrealistic. I’m more likely to go to the opposite end: If all or nearly all the main characters die, THAT feels unrealistic to me. But it does depend on what kind of story it is.

      I do like it when sagas end with the light kind of spitting on the dark with a triumphant victory. 😉 I think, to me, that kind of foreshadows Christ’s ultimate victory at the Last Trumpet, like you mentioned. But, again, that’s just me; and you bring up a good point. So far, everyone (or almost everyone) who’s died has come back. Maybe it’s time for Marvel to take their characters through real, lasting loss.

      Anyway. Sorry for the kind of strange comments. This was just a really thought-provoking post, I guess! 😉 .

      Like

      1. It’s not a strange comment! I really like getting your thoughts ❤

        For me . . . It's not ALWAYS that I want lots of deaths in an 'epic' story: but if it's a story that is trying to convince me of grave, world-endangering peril, then yes. I want–NEED–deaths because otherwise the danger simply doesn’t feel REAL, and I feel CHEATED.

        I definitely get what you mean about the foreshadowing of Christ’s ultimate victory. But for me, those kinds of stories have the opposite effect: I’m sitting here grumbling “This is NOT Christ’s ultimate victory, stop trying to convince me it is by making everything turn out right.”

        #maybe I’m just a grouch 😛 😛 #or maybe I’m too literal

        But, for real, I understand and respect that those types of stories are comforting for a lot of folks! It’s just, they make me feel uneasy rather than comforted.

        Like

      2. That’s all fair! Different storytelling tactics strike different people different ways, as we well know. 😉

        Like

  3. Well, two of the deaths — those that happened prior to the Vanishing — are already irreversible, so even if they bring back everyone, Loki and Gamora are still dead.

    For me, it depends. If I really love a cast, I don’t like seeing anyone killed off just to be ‘realistic.’ But I also have not emotionally invested in the Avengers movies and am not a big fan of the entire franchise, so I feel like my opinion at this point is neither here nor there.

    Like

    1. Some people still think Loki is coming back . . . idk, though, I feel like that would cheapen his arc. We’ll see.

      I WANT realism, especially for a story that’s all about death and danger and peril in the first place. I get unreasonably angry (heh) with storytellers who I feel like are ‘ducking their responsibilities’ in that department. Like, okay, you want to write about war? Then you had better be prepared to write about death, Sir.

      I’m not sure why I feel so strongly about it. 😛 But I do.

      Like

      1. Uh. Because you feel strongly about most things? 😉

        Loki died-died, though. He didn’t fake his death. (If he did, that’s an over-used cop-out.) So short of them regenerating him somehow, I don’t know that he can come back. I think Hiddleston is done with the franchise anyway (unless he’s doing that Loki series for Disney TV that I’ve heard talked about).

        Like

      2. LOL TRUUUUUUUUUUUUE

        I agree, it really looked like he was dead for good, and somehow I feel like it’d be super HARD to get a faked death past Thanos. Thanos, whatever else he may be, is smart.

        Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑