The Fandom Favorites Tag

What ho, lads! It’s been too long since we’ve done a fun tag around here, hasn’t it? Never fear, the lovely Eva-Joy @The Caffeinated Fangirl just included me in her newly created Fandom Favorites Tag! Thanks, Eva! ❤

~The rules~

  • Compile a list of up to ten of your favorite fandoms. Books, movies, TV shows—you name it!
  • Tell us about your favorite character in each of those fandoms, along with an explanation of why that character is your favorite. (Your reasoning can be however long or short you’d like it to be.)
  • Tag however many (or few) friends you’d like to participate.

Nice and simple, right? Of course, being the overthinker I am, I fretted a good deal over my fandom choices–and even over the definition of fandom itself. It’s the age-old question, “Does this story have a fandom, or does it simply have fans?

To my mind, a fandom is a community which gathers around a work of fiction for the purpose of discussing lore, sharing headcanons, debating theories, and squealing over all the squeal-worthy things. For this reason, fandoms tend to spring up around multi-part stories with large ensemble casts. Whether it’s a book series, a film trilogy, or a TV show, you need enough material to foster that kind of widespread engagement. Sometimes fandoms even develop around a body of work from a particular author. For example, I wouldn’t say Pride and Prejudice has its own fandom, but Jane Austen definitely does.

I think you’ll agree all the stories I’ve chosen have a “proper fandom” according to this definition. Yes, I’m probably taking this assignment too seriously, but hey, what else is new? 😛

Without further ado, and listed in no particular order, here are my choices!

~The fandoms~

Star Wars

My favorite Star Wars character is Jyn Erso. I know a lot of folks probably expected me to choose Rey (first female Jedi in a Star Wars film!) and while I adore Rey, I always come back to Jyn at the end of the day. She’s got a raw, feral energy which really appeals to me. You’ll notice this trait in… er… several of my fandom favorites. I have a strong tendency to pick the most chaotic, unhinged, “fight-me-in-a-parking-lot-character” in the whole fandom and immediately go, “I want that one.”

Marvel

Steve Rogers will forever be my favorite MCU character. Steadfast, loyal, principled, yet with a bit of a rebellious streak to keep him from being too perfect. It was one of the great joys of my young adulthood to watch that streak grow wider with each new movie. “I’m not looking for forgiveness, and I’m way past asking permission.” YOU BETTER BELIEVE MY FACE NEARLY SPLIT GRINNING.

Doctor Who

To no one’s surprise, my favorite Doctor Who character is the Tenth Doctor, played to exquisite perfection by my favorite actor, David Tennant. Ten expresses the true range of everything the Doctor can be, from a wide-eyed child seeing the universe for the first time to a vengeful god bent on destroying the wicked. It’s hard to write an immortal character well, because it’s hard to make the audience (who are very much not immortal) feel the weight of those hundreds or thousands of years. With Ten, you feel it. Oh boy, do you feel it.

Discworld

Speaking of immortals, Death is my favorite character from Terry Pratchett’s Discworld. In fact, Death may be one of the greatest fantasy characters of all time. Certainly he represents one of modern fantasy’s greatest achievements, shaping an anthropomorphic personification of human decay into a funny, quirky, downright lovable character, while still keeping him fundamentally Other and legitimately terrifying.

The Raven Cycle

Certified soft boy Noah Czerny has long been my favorite character in The Raven Cycle. Though Ronan, Adam, and Gansey are far more intriguing and complex, there’s just something about Noah that draws me in. The glitter? The cuddles? The practical jokes? The horrific backstory and tragic fate? Who’s to say?

Six of Crows

When I first read Six of Crows, I tried to kid myself that my favorite character was Inej, but it’s Kaz. It’s always been Kaz. Petty little bastard who got chucked into the deep end of life at age 9 and refused to drown out of sheer spite? Heck yeah! Let’s go, baby!

Umbrella Academy

I’ve never understood why so many fans choose Klaus or Diego as their favorite Umbrella Academy character when Five Hargreeves is RIGHT FRICKIN’ THERE. How can you not be instantly captivated by the fifty-eight year old assassin trapped in the thirteen-year-old body?? The boy who’s in love with a mannequin and would literally kill to protect her???

Minor tangent here, but it amuses me when people say, “I love Character X because they went through so much trauma and suffering, but they came through with a smile on their face!” To each their own, Jeeves; but I want characters who go through hell to come out spitting blood and nails and ready to fight the entire world. That’s what draws me to somebody like Jyn, or Kaz, or Five.

She-Ra

Catra is not only my favorite She-Ra character, she’s also my favorite villain. Indeed, she’s the only villain I’ve ever liked. She has a rich, complex descent into darkness and an equally complex redemption arc. Plus, she’s got a very sexy voice, which doesn’t hurt her chances with me. 😛

Leverage

Eliot Spencer has long been my favorite member of the Leverage team. He’s the “hitter,” the muscle, the protector, which is an easy draw for me… but I also appreciate how much effort the writers put into making this character more than just muscle. Eliot is one of the most emotionally intelligent members of the crew, and arguably the most selfless. He’s great with kids, and even loves to cook.

The West Wing

Last but not least of my fandom favorites is Leo McGarry from The West Wing. Dear old Leo, stubborn, fierce, curmudgeonly, cunning, and loyal to the very end. I love him, Your Honor. ❤

~~~~

There you have it, my ten choices for the Fandom Favorites tag! As for my tag-ees:

Olivia @Meanwhile, in Rivendell

Charity @The Sacred in the Secular

Maribeth @A Writer’s Tale

Emily @The Altogether Unexpected

… and anybody else who wants to play!

Have fun!

29 thoughts on “The Fandom Favorites Tag

Add yours

  1. Friend… we share so many fandoms!! KJEDNWOQP
    KAZ! KAZ! KAZ!!! I adore him!!
    Aaaah, TuA is such a good show- their soundtrack?? Immaculate.
    She-ra,,, Catra,,,, yes.
    I’ve been planning to read the Raven Cycle- now I’m absolutely convinced I must! :)))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh yes! So much fun to share similar tastes ❤

      KAZZZZZZZZZZZZ *pterodactyl screeching*

      I will always point to Umbrella Academy as a brilliant example of what a great pop music soundtrack can achieve when employed properly. So, so good.

      You must!! It’s utterly unique and just THE BEST.

      Like

  2. OoooOOOOohhhh! I may have to steal this one! I mean fandoms AND talking about beloved characters? Only my two favorite subjects EVER! And I loved seeing your answers!

    YES to the Tenth Doctor all. the. way. One of my favorite fictional characters in the history of ever! My goodness did David Tennant bring such a brilliant performance to the role. It was beautiful to behold. You can also never go wrong with good ol’ Steve Rogers. And all the love for Catra! One of THE best written characters I’ve ever see in my life! And yay for another Leverage fan!!! 😀 Though Parker and Hardison are my top faves, OF COURSE I adore Eliot and care the writers put into his deep, complex personality. ❤

    This was so much fun! Thank you for sharing! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, definitely do the tag! I would love to see your answers, Christine! ❤

      It's always a pleasure to fangirl with you over the gloriousness of the Tenth Doctor and of David Tennant! His ability to switch instantly and completely from "soft cinnamon roll" to "I will destroy you and everyone you love" never fails to stun me, no matter how many times I've seen it before.

      CATRA!!! YES!!! Is she not an an absolutely brilliant villain turned redeemed hero? Few shows have ever done it better, in my 'umble opinion.

      Thanks for your comment, Christine!!

      Like

  3. Such a fun tag! Working on my answers at the moment too.

    JYN. Mmmm, I love Jyn. I see a lot of myself in Jyn.

    And Eliot. Oh man, the boy just deserves all the hugs and all the high fives, does he not? I’m about half done with the final original season, and I love how well-rounded he’s become by then. I mean, all of them really have gotten some cool nuances and fleshing out, but Eliot? Bursting with realistic quirks. And charm. Can I just hug him already?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, awesome! I’m excited to see your choices!

      Me too! Jyn is one of the most relatable Star Wars women for me. And I just adore Felicity Jones’ portrayal of her; bouts of aggression mixed with moments of quiet vulnerability.

      I ALSO WISH TO HUG ELIOT ❤ Yes, I love the development he gets in Season 5! That series finale, tho *googly eyes*

      Like

  4. I am up for fandom obsessing 24/7, so I enjoyed this post a lot. XD

    I read Six of Crows about a month and a half ago, and now I think about it on a regular basis. I tried to convince myself that Nina or Jesper or Inej were my favorites and I love them all dearly and would do anything for them. But, yep, I keep coming back to my darling and dasterdly Kaz Brekker. I do not know the last time I was so attached to a fictional character. All the yes.

    The other week, in my homework I talked about a story I had heard and its significance to me. My professor then asked if I had seen The West Wing because apparently that story/analogy is in there. And when I went to her office today I saw a copy of The West Wing on her desk. Your blog, Katie, is the only other place I’ve ever heard of that show so you can bet I was excited! I still need to find a way to watch it, though…

    I don’t think I’ve heard anyone list those reasons for liking Cap, but I am 100% here for it.

    Seeing your updates for Discworld on Goodreads make me want to read these books so badly! Though…the numbers of those books really confuse me. XD Where in the world do I start?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good, good! So glad you enjoyed it 😀

      Right? And it’s even funnier because Nina and Jesper and Inej and Wylan and even Matthias are genuinely AMAZING masterpieces of characterization and development, but Kaz… Kaz is a level above them.

      EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEK! *excessive West Wing fangirling commences* What story was it, if you don’t mind me asking?? (Was it the “guy falls in a hole” one? Because that’s one of my top favorite moments in the whole show.)

      West Wing is currently on HBO Max, but it’s expensive, so that’s frustrating :-/

      DISCWORLD, YESSSSSS *cracks knuckles* Okay, let me explain. Discworld is different from a lot of fantasy series because it’s not strictly chronological, it’s not “start with the first book and work your way through to follow the continuing storyline.” Discworld is a big conglomeration of loosely connected sub-series which all take place in the same world (hence, Discworld), but they don’t all follow the same characters.

      So the best Discworld reading strategy is generally to pick one of the sub-series and start there. My recommendation is to either start with “Guards, Guards,” the first book in the City Watch series, or “Mort,” the first book in the Death series.

      Here’s a really useful introduction to the organization of Discworld:

      https://www.discworldemporium.com/content/6-discworld-reading-order

      Like

  5. I love Jyn. I relate to her. She makes me cry more than once. One of my favorite fictional heroines of all time, that’s for sure.

    Really enjoyed this post!! Thanks for playing along. ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ah, yes – the tag that led me to discover your wonderful blog (and wonderful you!). 🙂

    Fellow over-thinker here, sister! 🙌🏻 In fact, your post was rather therapeutic for me (and definitely made me chuckle), as I had basically commented to Eva, “I can’t play, because I have no idea what fandoms I belong to – and I’m not even sure what a fandom is!” (I suspected there was more to it than naming your favorite things, I just wasn’t exactly sure what that “more” was. So, thank you for the clarification. 😉)

    I also share and appreciate your introspective instincts. 😀 Whenever I participate in lists like these, I can’t help but look at my picks, notice patterns, and wonder, “What does this say about me?” 🙂

    You’ve broadened my horizons a bit as well. I’ve never heard of literally half of your chosen fandoms and can only speak to The West Wing – though even my knowledge in that regard has some significant gaps. Still, I’d say my favorite character is President Bartlett. I love me some Martin Sheen, and I generally tend to identify in some way with the leader of the team. 🙂

    Thanks for another fun, insightful read! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I’m so glad to have met you through Eva’s tag as well ❤ It's been really fun getting to know you!

      *high five for a fellow over-thinker* I'm usually a bit on edge until I can DEFINE MY TERMS–at least to my own satisfaction, lol!

      Exactly! That's what I'm always wondering: what does this say about me? What patterns does this reveal which I didn't notice before? In my case… a lot of my fandom favorites seem to have anger issues and violent tendencies. Har, har, har.

      An excellent choice indeed. President Bartlet is The Best.

      Thanks so much!! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awww…Thanks! ❤ It’s been really fun getting to know you, too! 🙂

        And I wouldn’t worry. I got more of a protector / defender / fighter vibe from your picks than pure, unjustified anger or violence. Of course, I am totally unfamiliar with half of your fandoms. 😉 But seriously – Leo and Captain America? If they get angry (or violent), it’s either righteously or for the benefit of someone else. Everybody needs some defense in their corner. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aww! *heart eyes* Thank you for reassuring me there xD You’re right, now that I think about it–I’m not drawn to characters who are angry or destructive without a reason, but to characters who fight fiercely to protect something or SOMEONE they care about. Even Five from Umbrella Academy, who would probably describe himself as purely amoral, is in fact motivated by one thing and one thing only–the need to save his family. To save the people he loves more than anything else in the world.

        Yessssssssssssssssss. *sniffles thinking about all the times Leo stands up for his friends*

        Liked by 1 person

  7. PS – And I’ll be darned if I didn’t misspell his name. 🙈 (The two ts didn’t seem right and were bugging me, so I had to Google it. 😄) I told you – gaps! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great answers! I would be hard-pressed, tho, to pick a favorite character in Doctor Who, since I seem to love 10, and 11, and 12 almost equally. 😛 I will have to think long and hard about that… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ooh, all the fandom goodness! *rubs hands*

    It’s slightly amusing to me that that Steve Rogers line is a favorite of so many of his fans, because it’s one of the ones that exemplifies all of the many reasons I want to Physically Harm him to no minor degree. xD C’est la vie, c’est la vie.

    I haven’t really experienced Pratchett’s take on the Death character, but I’m eager to do so! (And while we’re on the subject, how’s about a rousing round of applause for Markus Zusak’s Death, huh? What a guy.)

    I should read The Raven Cycle one of these days. I have a feeling I’d love Noah Czerny. 😀 ❤

    ELIOT, OUR BOY. *hugs him despite his protestations*

    Thank you so much for tagging me! I'm excited to (try to) do this. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Allllllllllllllllll the fandom goodness!

      HA! I rather suspected you would have that reaction, m’dear 😉 Ain’t it funny how people are so different?

      It’s like with Kaz Brekker (another of my fandom favorites); I love that little bastard so much, but you would MAIM him.

      I think you’ll really love Pratchett’s Death ❤ He and Zusak's Death have a lot in common, and they're both so beautiful.

      I would be genuinely fascinated to hear your opinion on The Raven Cycle! I truly don't know how you would react to the overall story… but Noah, yes, I think Noah would be your boy. ❤

      ELIOTTTTTTTTTT *hugs him while he grumbles*

      No problem! No pressure, of course, but if you want to do it, I hope you have fun!

      Like

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑